Tooth Fairy Certificate

Credits: Cisek, https://pixers.no/fototapeter/flying-fairy-68228221

I am a tooth fairy, or to be precise I am a tooth fairy to be. A friend of mine joined the tooth fairies last year and she told me it’s great fun!

I joined because I wanted to travel and see the world. I am pretty shy and I don’t like to be seen, so flying at night is always better. I had to attend a six month course to get to know the job properly and it’s been a bore. All those lists of teeth and places where children might hide them and booby traps I might find on my way…well I would have rather liked to go on a tooth fairy mission with one of the elders, it would have been much more fun, But, alright, the course has finished and tomorrow I have my exam for the cetirficate of first level tooth fairy (FLTFC). It means that I can only travel around the country I was born in, for other levels I will have to take other courses. I have been studying lists, the history of tooth fairies, the science of teething problems in children and how to effectively carry a tooth home and how to dispose of the tooth when we have taken it to fairy land and naturally how to carry a giant coin all the way to a child’s home. For that we are helped by ladybugs to carry a big bag with one, two or three coins. My ladybug is Dotty and she is trained in carrying goods so it will be easy with her. Fortunately i don’t have to deal with Frank, who is one of the ladybugs still available but he is a dreamer and he always forgets something important at the headquarters.

So, where do we store all the children teeth? This has been the first question I asked my teacher on the first day of course. He replied that it’s a secret and only third level fairies are allowed to know about the teeth in fairy land. I was irked by the reply. I am so curious by nature that I always end up in some trouble only to discover about what I am interested in. But I think that this time I will have to wait for the third level because it’s a state secret and the King of the fairies would be terribly angry at me if I nose around.

It’s already midnight, better to go back to my studies, I still have a few hours before sunrise when I have to be at the great meadow where the exam will take place. I will have to fly, to find the best way to reach a house or a tree or a bear cave, I have to fly a coin with Dotty and finally I have to answer all the questions by the course teachers. I keep my fingers and wings crossed. Let’s put on my thinking hat back and repeat for the hundred time the list of places and booby traps!

Leave a comment