Dear Olivia,

It’s been a month since my last letter. How are you doing? I am not too bad.

When last I wrote you, I told you how much I would have liked a pet at home and, now, I have one. Life has got it’s twist and turns but let me start from the beginning.

On Friday a friend of mine – who is a volunteer at the local kernel – phoned me and asked me if I could host a little dog for a while because the owner had to go away.

I had to think about it because I did not know if I could manage to add a dog to my daily tasks. But when she sent me a photo I could not resist further and I accepted.

The dog, Thumbelina, is a very well behaved dog but she is terribly stressed. Unfortunately it’s difficult to explain her that her dear owner is going to come back. Sometimes I see her shaking in a corner and I feel on the verge of crying but then I sit next to her to comfort her waiting she gets near to be stroked.

Life with a dog and a child of seven is pretty stressful even though Pepita is helping me with Thumbelina and she takes care of her when she is home from school. Yesterday morning she has woken up at 6:30 in order to walk the dog before going to school. I was speechless!

At times I feel overwhelmed and I have the temptation to give up and escape to a tropical beach leaving everybody and everything behind but then life is an adventure and it is worth to be lived as it is. And all told escaping is not what I like.

What about you? How is you life in the slow lane going? Have you already purchased the farm you showed me the pictures in your last letter?

I’ll keep you updated about my guest

I hope to meet you soon

Love

Dumilla

Leave a comment